Closet confidential

I’m so late to the party but here goes (links and pictures):

1. What is the oldest item in your wardrobe?

The oldest item in my wardrobe is my red prom dress, the first occasion dress of my own. My mum bought it for me in a boutique in Cannes. It’s plain but can be dressed up in a few different ways so it’s earned its place.

DSCF0583

2. What is the newest item?

I took advantage of the Collectif sale recently to get this yellow gingham dress. It’s a bit school girl but I never had a yellow uniform so I’m happy with it.

DSCF0582

3. What is the most expensive item?

I don’t spend much on my clothes and the most expensive (a Vivian of Holloway dress) has been sold so the current most expensive was my first ever repro vintage dress, this Hell Bunny May Day gloriousness of a dress.

4. What is the most affordable/cheapest item (that you use a lot)?

This kimono (which I’ve babbled on about endlessly since the beginning of the blog) which was 10 euros in a vintage market in Rotterdam. I wore it for 3 months straight last Spring and Summer and can’t wait to wear it again.

5. What was the biggest bargain?

This red jacket was my first online swap on Bigwardrobe. Never had such a great online swap item since.

DSCF0579

6. What was the biggest waste of money?

A green Collectif dress that I outgrew quite quickly. It’s been sold and I feel guilty that I wasted money on it.

7. What are your 3 favourite items right now?

You know I’m in love with this turquoise kimono don’t you? I’ve only talked about it endlessly over the past month. This burnt orange chiffon shirt which used to be a dress is so unlike anything I’ve ever had. And how I can forget this raspberry red appliqué jumper (From Yesstyle)?

DSCF0578

8. What is the most outrageous/colourful item in your closet (that you absolutely love)?

I’d go with this mustard yellow appliqué jumper I got from Camden at a higher price than I’d usually pay for a jumper but I love it that much. I wouldn’t call it outrageous but I don’t know anyone else who would wear it.

DSCF0571

9. What is your favourite piece that you’ve gotten as a gift?

I got this dress top hybrid as a birthday present last year and it’s so unusual for me to wear so it gets more wear being the only one of this style in my wardrobe.

10. What is the most comfortable item?

This flannel shirt is from a recent swap and not having had a use for a flannel shirt before, find it gloriously warm and cosy and while it drowns me a bit, sometimes it’s OK to be slouchy.

DSCF0577

11. What is the most uncomfortable item (but you would take the pain because you love it)?

I rarely wear something uncomfortable but out comes this pencil skirt, a little bit tight around the waist.

12. Show us your favourite complete outfit.

I can’t choose just one so I’ll leave that one for another time.

13. Pick your favourite black item and your favourite white item.

At the moment this black polka dot net skirt (from Yesstyle) is my favourite, it’s just so cute. The only white items I have are boring summer tops so I’ll go to one of my few cream items (from a swap), this lovely swishy skirted cream heart print dress.

DSCF0587

14. Where do you shop the most at?

I swap and thrift most of my things so I don’t shop the most anywhere. However Dorothy Perkins is the only place that sells trousers that fit me the best and online would be Yesstyle, I always have vouchers from there and it always has lots of pretty items (Korean fashion) I can’t find in shops here.

Leave a Reply

